Jon Pic.jpg
IMG_1802.jpg

Jonathan Hinton - Director of Bands 

jfhinton@forneyisd.net

Mr. Hinton currently serves as the Director of Bands at Brown Middle School. Mr. Hinton previously taught at Fort Worth Country Day school in Fort Worth, as well as in Northwest, Waxahachie, and Grand Prairie ISDs. His bands have consistently earned superior ratings at UIL Concert and Sight Reading Contest as well as Best in Class at numerous other events. He holds a Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Texas at Arlington and a Master of Music degree from Southern Methodist University.

Mr. Hinton is an active performer (tenor and bass trombone) and clinician in the DFW Metroplex, and is a member of the Irving Symphony Orchestra. He is a regular performer with the Plano Symphony, DFW Brass, InsideOut Band, the Craig Parker Elvis Experience, and has performed with both the Dallas and Fort Worth Symphony Orchestras, Hans Zimmer, Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, The Roots, Celtic Thunder and Ray Charles.

He currently lives in Arlington, and is a huge Star Wars fan and dad to his two daughters Grace and Emily. His professional affiliations include TMEA, TBA, and American Federation of Musicians.

Stephanie Castor - Assistant Director of Bands 

srcastor@forneyisd.net

Stephanie Castor is entering her third year working for Forney ISD and fifth year teaching for public schools. Ms. Castor teaches the symphonic band and the beginner woodwind classes at Brown Middle School, as well as the beginner clarinet, flute, and French horn classes at Smith Intermediate. 

 

In 2015, Ms. Castor graduated summa cum laude from Northeastern State University in Tahlequah, Oklahoma with her bachelor’s degree in Music Education. She immediately began her master’s degree the following school year, moving to London, Ontario to study with Jana Starling at the University of Western Ontario. Ms. Castor graduated with her master’s degree in Music Performance in 2017. 

 

Since then, Ms. Castor has lived in Texas doing one of her most absolute favorite things to do, teach band! Some of my other favorite things include going to running, reading, cooking, and taking my dog to the dog park. Go bears!

Smith Intermediate 

Megan Garza - Band Director

megarza@forneyisd.net

Percussion

Jordan Ferguson - Percussion Director

jrferguson@forneyisd.net

North Forney High School

Jim Gist - Director of Bands

jagist@forneyisd.net

Jennifer Turner - Assistant Director of Bands

​jlturner@forneyisd.net

Mason Jocoy - Assistant Director of Bands

mmjocoy@forneyisd.net